I Have A Plan-For a Maternity Top Part 1

15 Jan

I went to an op shop (I LOVE opshopping-which is another topic for another day) at Gepps Cross the other day after getting a pair of River’s sandals on special (AUD18!) and found this really sweet shade of yellow cotton material-which used to be a bed sheet . I saw a dress in it-and several tops.  It’s beautifully soft and cottony and I envisioned a pretty dress with a cinched waist and short cap sleeves. However, a pregnant gal must be practical and think of maternity tops to accomodate an ever-growing belly, for this pregnancy and all the ones to come.  The piece of blue material you see on top of the yellow cotton is a 1-metre piece of denim I found at an opshop at Lobethal-some teenager had made it into a curtain! And evidently got tired of it, hence my find. I made a flounced and gored maternity skirt with it, and decided to use the leftovers for the neckline and sleeve cuffs for this maternity top that I had in mind.

Yellow Cotton Bedsheet and Denim Curtain!

Puffed sleeves with denim cuff, empire gathered waist and denim neckline detail.

My Drafting Tools

This is a self-drafted project and I have all my tools laid out. No commercial patterns for me! I don’t like the fit they offer and all the alterations you have to make to fit your body-I find it much easier to draft a custom pattern from scratch.

Love my Clover tracing wheels, especially the double one-fantastic for seam allowances.

Homemade carbon paper-10 sheets stuck to a broadsheet newspaper. Works like a charm!

My Foundation Block from Winifred Aldrich's Metric Pattern Cutting

I made this block some time ago when I first got Aldrich’s book on drafting. I LOVE her book. It’s the one I go to time and time again. Her fit is excellent, and the book has huge amounts of infomation for the size of it. I like it better than Helen Joseph’s Armstrong’s Patternmaking for Fashion Design. I drafted this block to the size 12 measurements in the Aldrich book, with a few changes at the bust and waist. I also added a maternity line for maternity designs around 2..5 inches below the bustline. This means that my neck, shoulder, armhole and bust will fit as per pre-pregnancy, and I would just need to extend the the bottom half of the bodice block to make way for my baby bump.

The Pattern with finished seam allowances, for cutting out

All Cut Up

My material laid on the pattern and all ready to be cut out.

To be continued….

One Response to “I Have A Plan-For a Maternity Top Part 1”

  1. Rose March 4, 2013 at 7:35 am #

    Hi, I know this post is already a bit old, but I just found your blog while searching for a book about “how to construct maternity wear”.
    I´m student of fashiondesign, but even my teacher couldn´t suggest me books or material how to construct from scratch or how to alter existing blocks.
    After reading your post, I hope you could help me about that~
    Hope to hear from you soon and keep up with your great blog!
    Rose

Leave a Reply

