Assam Fish Noodle Soup

30 Mar

When mum was here, she brought with her a whole box of spices from Malaysia. It was lent and it was Friday and I was racking my head as to what to make. Wyld Man isn’t big on fish. I wanted something different. I thought of the box of spices and thought-what can I make with those? What it I used it on fish (they were mostly spices for poultry or beef dishes.) When I was back in Malaysia, there was a shop near dad’s clinic that sold this delicious fish head assam soup with noodles. It was EXTREMELY yummy. Golden, milky, spicy and hot. I craved it. I didn’t know how to make it. I made a guess. And so this recipe was born.

Ingredients

Frozen fish, dried noodles, Nyonya Steam Fish Spices, turmeric powder, okra, tomatoes, milk, African seasoning, salt, pepper and sugar.

Uncle Sun's Brand of Nyonya Steam Fish Spice Paste

This is the first time I’ve used this brand. I imagine you could use substitute brands with similar ingredients. I didn’t take a picture of the ingredients list on the back, but I would hazard a guess and say that any paste with chili, shallots, ginger, garlic, turmeric, lemongrass, galangal should do as well.

Boil some water

Cut the stalk of the okra heads.

I used about 10 little okras for two serves.

Quarter the tomatoes

I used 3 large tomatoes.

Cube the fish

I used Nile perch that were on special-you could use anything as a substitute. The dish has so many spices in it that even fish that smell usually smell fishy won’t. You can also use fish heads for a more intense flavour.

Heat some oil in a pot

Add spices into the pot and stir.

Do not burn the spices. Pour in when the pot is medium hot.

Add the fish and stir.

Add okras

Add a tablespoon of turmeric powder

Add a few dashes of African seasoning

Masterfoods

Fill half the pot with boiling water

Add tomatoes

Add half a carton of milk

Add sugar, salt and pepper to taste. Bring to a boil and then lower the heat and simmer for 20 minutes till the soup has thickened considerably. Add your dried noodles and boil till the noodles are soft and floats.

YUMMY!

Leave a Reply

