Homemade Curry Pizza

5 Jul

As a child and into my teens, I had loved pizza. Going to Pizza Hut in Malaysia was always a treat, and not one that happened very often. When I came here, Wyld Man and I sometimes ordered pizza from Domino’s and Pizza Hut, and sometimes we were fortunate enough to be at his mum’s while she was making pizza and we’d get invited to stay for dinner. However, ordering takeaway pizza, with extra toppings like jalapeno peppers (Wyld Man introduced me to its delicious heat and I’ve never looked back) for two people can get expensive pretty quickly, even with coupons. Wyld Man and I figured out that for the $4 extra we pay to add jalapenos on both of our pizzas it was cheaper to buy a jar at the store and put in on ourselves. And then I took the next step. I started making my own for a lot less, and I get to put whatever I want on it, however much I want. And it tastes better too! So I’ve been making pizzas for at least 5 Saturdays now.

The other night the boys had a gamer’s night and I made three pizzas to go around.I used a store-bought base, with canned herbed diced tomatoes, italian herb mix, and a secret ingredient. Curry powder. I had initially started with a basic tomato sauce base, but then there was one time that I was daring and thought I’d just throw some curry mix I had on hand on to the base. Wyld Man raved about it and now every pizza I make has curry in it.

This is what I used.

Ingredients

  • Cup Mushrooms
  • Diced canned tomatoes
  • Canned pinaepple pieces
  • Olives
  • Pickled hot peppers
  • Curry Powder
  • Italian herbs
  • Ham
  • Tabasco Sauce (I used Nzir chili sauce to substitute)
  • Grated cheddar and mozarella cheese and a store-bought pizza base

Ready made pizza base

I’m too lazy to roll dough-but I should. It’s cheaper. And would probably taste better too, once I get the hang of it.

First step, the diced tomatoes goes on.

Ardmona Rich and Thick Chopped Tomatoes with Mixed Herbs

In a pinch, you can use any canned tomatoes. But nothing too watery though. Spread about 2 heaping tablespoons onto the base.

Tomato spread

I usually score the pizza base into 6 segments because cutting a baked pizza without a pizza cutter can get frustrating. Pre-scoring the base saves me some headache. Oops- need to preheat the oven first. 200 degrees Celsius.

Next comes the Italian Mixed Herbs. Give a very generous sprinkle.

Big dash of herbs

Then, the curry. I had this on hand.

Karachi Chicken Masala

Substitute with whatever curry spice you have on hand.

Be very, very generous.

Sprinkle on some cheese at this point. When it melts, it will hold on to the toppings above. Otherwise, you’ll find the toppings slipping off.

Slight sprinkle of cheese

If I had tabasco sauce, I would put in at this point. But I only had Nazir’s.

Nazir's Chili Sauce

Slice some mushrooms..

Sliced cup mushrooms

…and some ham…

Sliced ham

…and sprinkle on the pizza…like this…

Attack of the Giant Mushrooms

Next, some olives to fill in the gaps.

Getting there...

There are olives, and there are olives. I bought homebrand once, and they were completely tasteless. These are so much better.

And then comes the pineapple.

Golden Circle Pineapple pieces

Pizza is never complete without some hot stuff. I usually use jalapeno peppers, but ran out. So I used…

Hoyts Hot Peppers

…instead. They are huge…

Big bad peppers

..so we do the chop chop…

Chopped wimpy peppers

Sprinkle randomly on pizza…

Pizza coming along nicely

Big dollop of mozarella and cheddar…

Cheese cheese

One last sprinkle of Italian herbs and curry powder…

And into the oven we go!

Lower oven temp to 180 degrees Celsius, set timer for 15 minutes. If you have a temperamental electric oven like me, and are using two trays at different levels, switch the trays after 15 minutes and leave for another 10 minutes.

The perfect homemade junk food.

Seriously yummy. Can’t wait for Saturday!

2 Responses to “Homemade Curry Pizza”

  1. Alison Han July 9, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    that’s really amazing!! haha.. one day, when i have my own kitchen, i shall try out to make a pizza too!! How’s the ready made pizza base? Can you choose the type of pizza base?

    • Wyld Woman July 10, 2010 at 12:26 am #

      I don’t know if can get ready made base in M’sia. If you can get them, it’s really easy to make a pizza really quickly. You can make your own though-make a few at once and freeze for later.

Leave a Reply

